Originally posted at Blogger on November 22, 2011 – I posted this 3 months after my Mom had died, but it had swirled around in my head the days leading up to her death.

I am walking you home, walking you home, walking you home.

I am your shoulder to lean on, your sometimes unwilling companion on your journey home.

I want you to stay awhile longer, but I know it’s time you must walk on home.

I can walk with you a while longer, but you will have to cross over without me at the end of the journey.

I will kiss you goodbye, while a thousand and one tears will fall while I am walking you home, walking you home, walking you home.

Someone else will be there and take your hand from mine and help you finish the journey I cannot complete. They have walked their own journey home and they will walk beside you the rest of the way home.

I am forever grateful, yet profoundly stricken I could walk with you a little while on the journey home, holding your hand, giving you courage, so you didn’t have to walk alone.

Comfort will come knowing someone will one day walk with me toward home, and you will be there to take my hand from theirs and finish the journey they cannot complete.

I will watch for you on the horizon when my time comes to walk on home, walk on home, walk on home.

We will walk home together that day, on the journey we started so long ago, but for now, I am walking you home, walking you home, walking you home. I wish you could have stayed a little longer, but I know you had to walk on home, walk on home, walk on home.

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from JL The Turtle is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to JL The Turtle and The Accidental Thoughts of a Turtle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.