Originally posted at  Blogger on October 9, 2010

Two weeks ago I had to write a paper for my Intro. to Technical Services Class. It could only be one page, so I think it lacks a bit of depth but, it is, what it is. I really didn’t know that we were coming up on John Lennon’s 70th birthday when I wrote it, although I think of him and his music often. I really don’t think there are any coincidences in life. Everything happens for a reason. This needed to be on my mind, I just happened to not understand the reason today.

Happy birthday John, I was upset at your leaving and how you were called upon to leave. I wish you had been allowed to walk over peacefully, after your Beautiful Boy was fully a man.

Reflection Paper on American Library Association’s Code of Ethics and The Freedom to Read Statement

I have read both the ALA Code of Ethics and the Freedom to Read Statement. Throughout reading both articles of statement I had the same recurring thought, If Catcher in The Rye had been kept from the hands of Mark Chapman would John Lennon have walked into the Dakota the night of December 8, 1980 uninterrupted? Gone to bed like any other night? Kissing his young baby boy goodnight, before lying down beside his wife, to wake the next morning to the sun streaming in across his face?”

I remember there was so much attention given to Catcher in The Rye. It was repeated and repeated that Chapman had a copy with him, that he had read it over and over, and Lennon signed his name to this book before Chapman fired off five shots, hitting John four out of the five. I was 20 years old and I heard Catcher in the Rye, and the murder of John Lennon so many times, that I never, ever wanted to read the book. I was afraid to read the book, if it could make one man seek out and murder John Lennon what was it capable of making me do?

That was the thinking of a 20-year-old. Thirty years later my brain has matured and I realize books, are not the problem. People are what make things bad and twist things to their use or advantage, good or bad. We make our own decisions. Some of us are labeled normal or good and some of us are not, keeping books out of the hands of any of us serves no one. Whether we read what is viewed as a “bad” book or a “good” book, we decide for ourselves which walk to take. If Catcher in the Rye had been kept from Mark Chapman, my heart wells with sadness knowing, John Lennon would still be dead.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.