Originally posted at Blogger on June 23, 2010

I take a moment each night,

to look at the glorious orange setting sun.

I breath in the night and think of all the people

who saved my life for yet another day.

High on the list, are those who donated their blood.

I think of those who took just a moment

to answer a zillion plus questions,

who took a moment to lay down on a table,

let the world slow down,

be pierced with a needle and

squeeze out their life saving blood,

for faceless people like me.

In that moment, of the setting sun,

I give thanks to faceless people like you,

for giving me a moment more to be

a daughter,

a sister,

a wife,

a friend,

a mother,

to simply be all of what I am.

I love auctions and flowers and all things old.

I love to dance and write and sing,

even though I can’t carry a tune.

I give thanks to you for giving me moments

to be alive,

and be able to take one moment each night

to see the setting sun.

Thank you for your gift of moments by being a blood donation hero –

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from JL The Turtle is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to JL The Turtle and The Accidental Thoughts of a Turtle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.