I originally posted this November 25, 2009. It was a tough Thanksgiving. Mom’s cancer had returned and she called me too sick to do Thanksgiving. The plan had been for me to cook at her house, but with her being sick with what she thought was the flu the plan changed for me to cook at my house and she would stay home. This was the first time it hit me that she might not be here next Thanksgiving and I had a hard time keeping my emotions in check. As it turned out she was here for one more Thanksgiving after this one.

Twas the day before Thanksgiving and the side dishes were not bought. The turkey in the fridge had decided not to thaw. The house was a mess in hopes of being somewhere else. Oh what shall I do? I shall save the turkey till he’s kind enough to thaw and head to McDonald’s for a Quarter Pounder with Cheese and finish off  and drown my sorrows at the end of the day with 5 slices of pie from my brother’s girlfriend!

Yes I know that’s not amazing poetry, but it is the accidental thoughts that began racing through my head yesterday with the call from my Mom, saying she’s got the flu, and who is suppose to have Thanksgiving at her house, with me cooking the turkey. Too much stress in my life and I sit and write quirky crap. It makes me feel better. It purges my nervous condition and then I have a giggle or a roll of the eyes at my insane life and move on. Thank you God for a sense of humor admist the storms of reality.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.